Unprepared: Is $27 Enough?

Thanks to Karen for sharing some of the insights gained during her SNAP Challenge experience:

Imagination has its shortcomings when presuming what it must be like to live on SNAP.  To experience the self-control, limitations, blandness, cravings, hunger pangs and resourcefulness, for only one week, revealed challenges and surprises.  As a boredom-driven snacker, I knew I was guilty of some percentage of over-indulgence.  The SNAP challenge exposed more eating-for-pleasure in my habitual lifestyle, than I’d like to admit.

Unprepared, I scrambled to find cheap a la carte options for my first two days on SNAP.  Lesson 1:  You have to prepare to be able to spend the SNAP budget wisely and eat healthy.  Time might be a more precious commodity than pine nuts.  By evening #2, I spent a ridiculous amount of time wandering in a Sprouts grocery store, meticulously calculating food pairings, perishability, and what would fit the overall bill.  I thought about how difficult this shopping trip would be with the distraction of a young child, or without my car conveniently parked outside.  By checkout, rice, beans, oatmeal, various produce and a box of clearance-priced ($0.50) stuffing filled my basket.  I always bring my own bags to checkout, and this time, I felt really grateful for the 10-cent bag credit applied.  Then I stayed up late cooking to prepare meals for the rest of the week.  Generally, I don’t eat meat, so I didn’t miss that, but I longed for variety pretty quickly, as the days progressed.  On the bright side, I might never have discovered that butternut squash seasoned with allspice and brown sugar is delightful mixed with oatmeal, a chopped apple and a single hazelnut creamer.  Was I cheating by adding brown sugar from my well-stocked cabinet?

Ultimately, I’m left wondering –  “is $27 / week enough?”  I found it to be sufficient to cover basic needs, but I only have the ephemeral view.

I am inspired to decrease what I spend on food, and spend more time preparing my own meals.  I value the contributions that I make to St. Mary’s Food Bank more personally now.  I won’t give up all indulgent gourmet treats; just cherish them more.

Leave a comment